Ready… Set… GO!

Today starts NaNoWriMo–National Novel Writing Month. What that  means is that a bunch of crazy writers get together and try to write a 50,000 word book in thirty days. That’s 1600 words a day–if you write every. Single. Day. Which, of course, most normal people can’t do because most of us have another job and families that demand our attention and groceries that need to be bought. Not to mention that Thanksgiving thing that’s the end of November. So really we’re looking at more than 1600 words a day if you can’t write every day.

So why would I torture do this to myself? Because for the better part of a year I’ve been revising and rewriting. Because sometimes I need to get back to my roots, so to speak, to write dirty, as the saying goes. Sometimes it’s nice to not have to worry about passive verbs or all the rules that clutter a writer’s life. Sometimes its nice to just be creative.

I’m not fooling myself. I know at the end of the month I’ll have a manuscript that will need some revising and rewriting, but I’ll have the entire story down and that’s what’s important.

So wish me luck, because the next 30 29 days will be crazy!

ps- If you look in my sidebar you’ll see a wordcounter that will keep track of my progress.

pps- For all you writers out there, my NaNo name is sharoncullen if you want to friend me.

One thought on “Ready… Set… GO!

Leave a Reply

