Sweet Saturday Samples

Today is Sweet Saturday Samples when authors from all genres get together and post a sweet sample of their writing on their blogs. My sample is from my romantic suspense, Deception. Enjoy! And if you want to check out other authors’ samples, click here.

Her eyes narrowed but he kept going, hoping if he talked enough, the right words would come. “I don’t deserve your trust. I know that. I accept that. But what happened at your house, it’s not good. My boss is after me for reasons I can’t even begin to figure out. She’s…” How to describe Suzanne?

“She’s powerful. I’d feel better if you came with me. So I can protect you.”

An incredulous look crossed her face and he held up his hand, needing to say his piece. “I know I haven’t done a good job of that so far, but I can do it. It’s what I’m trained for. Come with me, please.” His voice cracked on the please. He didn’t want to leave her behind, and if she didn’t voluntarily decide to come with him, he honestly had no idea what he would do.

“Why don’t you call the police?” she asked.

“Because this is beyond the police.”

“No one’s that powerful, except maybe the president of the United States.”

He kept his mouth shut and Kate’s eyes went a little wider. “Are you saying the president of the United States is after you?”

“No.” But close.
She glanced uncertainly at the parking lot attendants, biting her bottom lip once again. “If I don’t go with you, what will you do? Where will you go?”

“It’s probably best you don’t know that.”

“What will happen to me?”

He didn’t know how to answer that question without scaring her, then decided maybe a little bit of fear would help his situation. “I don’t know, Kate. Someone tried to kill me back there and he wouldn’t have left you alive as a witness. The only thing I can guarantee is that you’ll be safer with me than without me.” He paused. “I need to know. Are you coming or not?”

Buy Links:

Kindle | Nook | Paperback

Read more about Deception

6 thoughts on “Sweet Saturday Samples

Leave a Reply

