What I Learned This Week

I learned something very valuable this week–how to get melted wax out of carpet.

So, you ask, how did it come about that I had to learn how to get wax out of carpet? Well, that’s a funny story (and one my husband knows nothing about so shhhh). See, we have a potpourri burner that melts scented wax. Something like this –>

I thought it would be a good idea to change the wax in it (which is really easy to do. All you have to do is stick it in the freezer for an hour and out pops the old wax). Unbeknownst to me, the wax burner was on and the wax was already melted. When I pulled it off the shelf it… Well, let’s say wax went EVERYWHERE! On me. On the dog. On the carpet. On me.

Immediately I went to my good friend Google and did you know that all you need to get wax off carpet is an iron and paper towels? Neither did I.

You take your iron, turn it on to the lowest setting (I made mine increasingly hotter but only after I made sure it wasn’t melting my carpet fibers). Put a paper towel on top of the wax, put the iron on top of the paper towel (you only need one layer of paper towels. I doubled it up at first and it didn’t work as well) and set the iron on the paper towel. The most miraculous thing happens! The wax melts and the paper towel soaks it up.  It took me about a half an hour but the area with wax was…um…quite large. But I swear its all gone and I’m not telling my husband unless he notices the wax on the dog’s fur. Then I guess I have some ‘splainin’ to do as Ricky Ricardo would say.

What’s the dumbest thing you’ve ever done? Did you fix it? Were you able to keep it a secret?

9 thoughts on “What I Learned This Week

  1. This happened to me a couple years ago,Sharon, and I did the exact same thing! Iron and paper towel worked wonders in getting the wax out of my carpet. Wonderful trick 🙂

  2. What a great tip! Thanks. When my kids were little and drew on the refrigerator with crayon once, I found my eye makeup remover took it right off. Don’t ask how I figured that one out.

  3. Great tip! I buy a lot of my wax from Scentsy and they have a pull tab that is heavy plastic that you can place inside the burner before you melt the wax…when you are done with that scent and it’s cooled, you just pull the tab and you’re burner is nice and clean for the next one. Saves the step from the freezer 🙂

    Here’s a naughty I did several years ago. After we just built our house and were all moved in, I spilled a little bit of bleach on the carpet…*gulp*…I called my sister and she flew over with an assortment of colored sharpie markers…lol. We colored my carpet and it worked, nobody was any the wiser. Once in awhile I will just do a quick touch up 🙂 hehehehe…I feel better now that I’ve confessed.

  4. Okay I’m totally writing his down …. Because it hasn’t happened to me yet, but it probably will. I was painting our tv room – cocacola red – when we first moved in. Tripped over my feet and the drop cloth, spilled the paint, wound up rolled up in the drop cloth….and paint everywhere. Me, the dog – who began running frantically thru the entire house – and the carpet. Yes. I am a card carrying member of the clutz class…

Leave a Reply

