What Do You Like to See in an Author’s Website?

I need a more professional website so I’ve contacted several website designers to get an estimate. Let me tell you, professionally done websites are not cheap. I had a little bit of sticker shock when the estimates started rolling in. But, has my husband says, “You have to spend money to make money.” And, really, I do want to present the most professional face I possibly can to entice people to read my books.

So I’m putting it out there to all you authors and readers: What do you like to see in an author’s website? What makes you keep coming back? What makes you click away from the site and never return?

2 thoughts on “What Do You Like to See in an Author’s Website?

  1. The only thing I absolutely hate is black – or another very dark color – as the main background with tiny white writing. Makes my brain hurt. Other than that, I’m fairly easy. I love to read ‘behind the book’ type stuff and I’m always looking up authors’ backlists to see if I’ve missed anything. Good luck with your search, Sharon!!

  2. I like to see what books an author has written, pictures of the characters if available, any press releases or announcements, and personal items – such as blogs and pictures with notes. The colors used are secondary to me. Sometimes I like sound associated with websites, such as a theme song or sound when you click on an item.

Leave a Reply

