Dawn Soap Is the New Duct Tape

I learned two new things this past weekend that blew me away and gave me a new appreciation for Dawn dish soap.

1. I saw this on Pinterest and thought I’d give it a whirl because I’ve yet to find a really good shower cleaner. Until now. Here’s what you need:

1 cup Dawn dish soap

1 cup vinegar

Put in a spray bottle and shake. Spray it on your shower walls, let it sit an hour or two and wipe the walls down with a sponge.

OMGosh! This worked really well! The shower walls shone as well as the silver knobs.

2. I had two shirts that I didn’t wear all summer because they had oil stains on them. One from the Pam I was spraying while cooking dinner and the other when I dripped mayonnaise on it. I washed the shirts right away but the stains set so I hung the shirts in my closet where they stayed all summer. Why I didn’t throw them away, I don’t know. But one day I was thinking that Dawn is the grease fighter, why wouldn’t it get the grease out of my shirts? So I poured Dawn on the grease stains, let them sit, then washed them. For good measure I washed them twice without drying in between.

Guess what??? The grease stains came out and now I have two practically new shirts!

So what’s the best household cleaning tip you have? Please share.

10 thoughts on “Dawn Soap Is the New Duct Tape

  1. I’m a huge believer in the power of vinegar too…that stuff is awesome! Thanks for the tips about mixing the Dawn and vinegar for the shower…the hardest part is getting those darn knobs looking sparkly, especially when you have hard water…boo!

  2. I hadn’t seen that – gonna try it on our shower! My best tip is to put a single dryer sheet at the bottom of your trash can in the kitchen. Kills the odor from any thrown-out food…and it’s much cheaper than those odor-killing trash bags.

  3. Thanks for the tips, as long as you don’t use Dawn for dishes. I read somehwere recently to soak a cloth in regular fabric softener, let it dry and use it instead of dryer sheets. Works up to 40 uses. I haven’t tried it yet, but I plan to.

  4. I’m trying this Dawn trick! My favorite cleaning tip is when washing windows or mirrors, use vinegar and water and balled up newspaper to wipe it off with. Crystal clear, no streaks! Great post Sharon!

  5. This is awesome. Love the money saving tip!.
    Here’s my tip: use white vinegar instead of fabric softener in your wash. Your clothes come out just as soft and without the perfume smell. At least my husband and boys like it better. LOL
    Thanks, Sharon!!

  6. When I was a kid, my dad’s sister used to take in laudry to do for people. The one family she did wash for was a mechanic, plus her boys and hubby were always playing around with old cars. Anyway, my aunt swore by Dawn to get out motor oil and grease from the guys’ clothes.

    I use it all the time when I get oil on my clothes.

    The shower one is a great tip!

Leave a Reply

