I’m a Mac

I bought a Mac the other day. This is a big statement since I’ve been a PC all my life. But after burning through three laptops in less than five years I was fed up with shelling out 400+ dollars for a new laptop.

My daughter bought a Mac in the spring. I own an iPod, an iPhone and my husband has his beloved iPad. I think its safe to say that we’re slowly becoming an Apple family.

This is what I’ve learned this week:

-Apparently with Apple you download apps. There’s an app for just about everything.

-Gmail crashes Thunderbird. They don’t play well together.

-Hotmail doesn’t play well with Outlook which is kinda weird since Hotmail is Microsoft’s email service and Outlook is made by Microsoft.

-I am intimately familiar with SMTP, POP and IMAP services. Just five days ago I had no idea these things even existed.

-I think I’m going to like this Mac. As soon as the learning curve is over. If its ever over.

So what are you? A Mac? Or a PC?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “I’m a Mac

  1. I have had a couple of laptops and I’m happy with them. Right now I have a Toshiba that I adore..it’s got a nice sized screen and I love the keyboard set up…but I can already see it wearing after about 2 years. I think I just use it too much! lol

    I don’t know much about the Apple family unless it’s the edible kind! lol

    Good luck with your learning curve…that’s always the hardest part. But once you have it all set, you’re good to go.

    • That’s funny, Christine because it was my Toshiba that finally pushed me over the edge. I bought it last July and by December the outer shell was already broken. It runs well but its falling apart. I’ve had an Acer that lasted two years and suddenly stopped charging. We replaced the battery but that didn’t work. Replaced the cords and that didn’t work. We’ll see how the Mac goes. I’ve heard nothing but great things about it and I love how light it is.

  2. I’m a PC – so far. After the first of the year I’m thinking of dipping my toe into the world of Mac (computers, that is). I love my iPad – I actually do more writing on it now than I do on my PC…and it would be nice if what I write through the iPad was instantly perfect when I mail it over to my PC.

Leave a Reply

