Are you a one book person?

For two years I’ve been waiting for Ken Follett’s sequel to Fall of Giants. TWO YEARS! That’s a long time! But finally it came out and I’m so excited I can’t stand it. The problem is I’m in the middle of another book that I’ve been waiting to read (Maya Bank’s Never Seduce a Scot).

So now I have a dilemma. Finish Banks’ book or put it on hold and start Follett’s book.

Some people can read two and three books at a time, but not me. I’m a one book person.

What about you? How many books do you have going at a time?

 

9 thoughts on “Are you a one book person?

  1. I feel like I’m cheating on one book if I leave it to read another one :). But! It’s also no good reading a book whilst your mind has already raced ahead thinking about the new one. So I would lend/give the new one to someone else and ask them to hold onto it and then get back into the first book. (oh and tell the someone else to be prepared to hand it back at a moment’s notice LOL)

  2. I can read more than one book at a time. Sometimes I forget to take my hard copy with me, but I always have my Nook in my purse so I read a book on that if need be. I do that in my writing too! I’m always writing more than one ms at a time! Great post, Sharon!!

    • LOL. That’s the book I chose to read. I couldn’t wait to open and I knew I wouldn’t be able to concentrate on Banks’s book if the Follett book was sitting there, mocking me.

  3. I always have more than one book going…and it *does* make me feel guilty. But there are times I’m reading-while-supervising the kiddo and so I need something that is a little lighter, that I can put down/pick up as needed…and there are times I don’t have to worry about cooking dinner or toddler-time and can really get lost in a book.

    I’m all for going Follett – 2 years is a LONG time to wait. :)

  4. I can only read one book at a time. I’m such a linear thinker. And sometimes, while I’m waiting for the next book in a series to come out, I go back and read the previous books in order. It’s easier for me to put a new book on hold rather than stop reading the one I’m reading. But like Sheri says, that presupposes that you have time to read even one! Great post!

    • I’m trying to make time to read because I love it and miss it so much. I also think reading is a form of writing because I learn so much from these great authors.

Leave a Reply

